Skip to main content

Chat with Your Tenants

chat with tenants, message tenants, tenant messaging, tenant chat, send message to tenant, tenant communication, landlord messaging, in-app messaging, direct messaging, RentRedi chat, chat in RentRedi, contact tenant, delete edit chat, contact person

Written by Riz

You and your tenants can now start communicating directly within RentRedi! 🙌

Take the Tour to See It in Action

Watch the Demo Video 🎥

What's New?

We've redesigned Chats to make communicating with your tenants faster and easier.

  • Unread chat notifications – You'll now see a badge on the Communications menu whenever you have unread chats.

  • Refreshed Chats Inbox – View your chat inbox on the left and the selected chat thread on the right, making it easier to keep track of your chats without switching between pages.

  • Start chats from anywhere – Begin a chat directly from your Communications inbox, a tenant's profile, a unit details page, or a maintenance request.

  • File attachments – Attach files when starting a new chat or replying to an existing one.

  • Chat delivery status – After sending a chat, you'll see its delivery status. If a chat fails to send, it will display Not Sent with a Try Again option.

We hope these updates make it faster and easier to communicate with your tenants. Let us know what you think using this feedback survey!

How to Send a Chat

  1. From your RentRedi Dashboard, click Send in the Communication tab.

  2. Click Send Chat.

  3. Under Send To: Search for the tenant, property, or unit you want to message.

  4. Title: A default title is provided — you can customize it if you’d like!

  5. Message: Type the message you want to send

  6. Your Name: Automatically pulls from your account — click Edit if you want to change it.

  7. Click Send Message

Your Chats Inbox

Your Chats Inbox helps you keep track of all your chats in one place. From your inbox, you can:

  • Search chats by tenant, property, or unit.

  • Switch between the All and Unread tabs to quickly find chats that need your attention.

  • See an unread badge next to Communications in the left navigation whenever you have new chats.

  • You can also click + New Chat to start a new chat.

Start a Chat from Anywhere

You don't have to open your Chats Inbox to start or continue a chat. Chats is available throughout RentRedi.

  • Tenant Profile - Go to Tenants, select a tenant, then open the Chats tab to view and continue chats with that tenant.

  • Unit Details - Go to Properties & Units, select a unit, then click the Chats tab to view chats related to that unit.

  • Maintenance Request - Open a maintenance request and click the Chat tab to communicate with the tenant about that specific repair request.(See How to Message Your Tenant About a Maintenance Request.)

No matter where you start a chat, you'll see the same interface and can send another using + New Chat.

Edit or Delete a Chat

You can edit or delete your most recent message for a short time after sending it.

When Can I Edit or Delete a Message?

You can edit or delete a message when all of the following apply:

  • It's a message you sent.

  • It's the most recent message in the conversation.

  • It was sent within the last 2 minutes.

Note: The option goes away as soon as another message is sent in that conversation — by you or the other person — even if it's been less than 2 minutes.

Edit a Chat

  1. Open a chat conversation.

  2. Find your most recent message and tap or click the ⋮ (More Options) menu.

  3. Select Edit.

  4. Update your message and save it.

The updated message is visible to everyone in the conversation and is labeled (edited) under the timestamp. The chat preview and message notification are also updated to reflect the edited message.

Delete a Chat

  1. Open a chat conversation.

  2. Find your most recent message and tap or click the ⋮ (More Options) menu.

  3. Select Delete.

The message will be replaced with This message was deleted in the conversation. Both you and the other person will see this message, and the original message will no longer be visible.

Notes:

  • Deleted messages may still have been seen or received through push or email notifications.

  • Messages can only be edited or deleted within 2 minutes or before another message is sent.

  • Deleting a message also removes its attachments from the conversation.

Send Attachments

You can attach files to your chats.

  1. Open or start a chat.

  2. Click the paperclip icon 📎.

  3. Select a file from your device.

  4. Send your chat.

Note: You can upload images/photos, PDF files, and Microsoft Word documents (.doc and .docx).

Add the Account Owner to a Chat

If you're a team member, property manager, maintenance personnel, or someone who has been granted access by the account owner in RentRedi, you can now include them in your message with tenants!

When starting a new chat, type the account owner's name in the Send to field and select it from the contact list.

This will add them as a recipient, then let you continue filling out the chat message as usual. ✅

Note: This feature is available to team members with Notifications access included.

Want to Disable Chats?

You can easily disable the Chat feature from your settings.

  1. From your RentRedi dashboard, click your name in the top-right corner.

  2. Go to Settings → Feature Settings.

  3. Under Chat, toggle the Chat button off.

Done! ✅ Your tenants can no longer send you messages through RentRedi.

Choose Who Tenants Can Message

You can control which contacts your tenants can message through RentRedi Chat.

  1. From your RentRedi dashboard, click your name in the top-right corner.

  2. Go to Settings → Feature Settings.

  3. Under Chat Contact Settings, choose who your tenants can contact:

    • Just Me — Only you

    • All Teammates — All teammates with access

    • Specific People — Choose specific teammates

You can apply this setting at three levels:

  • Global Setting — All properties and units

  • Property Override — A specific property

  • Unit Override — A specific unit

Notes: If different settings are applied at different levels, the more specific setting takes priority:

Unit Override → Property Override → Global Setting

For example, if your global setting allows tenants to message all teammates, but a specific property is set to Just Me, tenants at that property can only message you. If a specific unit has its own setting, the unit setting takes priority over the property setting.


Need help? 💬

Contact us! RentRedi Chat Support is available 24/7! Access our Live Chat via the chat bubble in the bottom right corner of the RentRedi dashboard.

Did this answer your question?